Medical Needs and Hospital Education Service & S19 Provision

Medical Needs and Hospital Education Service (MNHES)

Who we are

Our provision is available for all children of compulsory school age residing in the Bradford Local Authority area who cannot attend school because of illness and health needs. The Local Authority is responsible for arranging suitable education for these pupils who would not otherwise have a suitable education.

We provide education for pupils admitted to the Children's Wards of AGH and BRI as well as pupils who receive regular treatment at either hospital.

What we offer

The service offers education based on an individual assessment of needs and what their health conditions will allow. This allows:

  • Group education
  • Pairededucation
  • 1:1 education (in severe medical cases)
  • Outreach Education (in severe medical cases)
  • Remote learning/online learning
  • Learning work packs
  • 1:1 education at AGH and BRI Children's Wards

The number of hours offered is dependent on the individual's health needs. 5 hours of Maths and English are offered, along with other curriculum areas to create a full time offer if the pupil's health need allows.

MNHES Curriculum Offer 23-24

Our main aim is for the child to continue with their education and then transition to full time education in a mainstream school or otherwise dependent on need. This may be a transition to a Post -16 provision.

Where are we based

  • 21 Owlet Road, Shipley, BD18 2LU - Telephone 01274 582995
  • Ward 17 at Airedale General Hospital
  • Ward 12, 30 and 32 at Bradford Royal Infirmary

S19 Provision

Who we are

Our S19 Provision is a temporary education provision for those pupils with complex Special Educational Needs who are new to country or area whilst appropriate and effective educational provision is established

This is a full time provision for 8-12 pupils for a time limited period

What we offer

The service offers the following based on an individual assessment of needs

  • Small group education with specialist SEND teacher, HLTAs and LSAs
  • Individual and personalised curriculum based on needs
  • Close liaison with the Local Authority SEN Team to ensure appropriate provision based on need

Our main aim is for the child to be provided with an outstanding social and academic education to enable them to successfully transition to a permanent and appropriate education setting. This may be a transition to a Post -16 provision.

Where we are based

  • 21 Owlet Road, Shipley, BD18 2LU - Telephone 01274 582995

MNHES Flyer

Senior Leadership Team

Hannah Whittaker Service Manager hannah.whittaker@bradford.gov.uk
Claire Wright Business Support Manager claire.wright@bradford.gov.uk
Waqass Khalid Welfare Officer waqass.khalid@bradford.gov.uk
Stephanie Cordingley Teacher in Charge stephanie.cordingley@bradford.gov.uk
Sarfraz Nawaz Hospital Teacher in Charge sarfraz.nawaz@bradford.gov.uk
aghhospital@mnhes.org.uk
brihospital@mnhes.org.uk
Lesley Wallace ED Team Teacher in Charge lesley.wallace@bradford.gov.uk
Ruth Murney Primary, year 7&8 Team Leader ruth.murney@bradford.gov.uk
Robert Holladay Year 9 & 10 Team Leader obert.holladay@bradford.gov.uk
Gabrielle Murray Year 11 Team Leader gabrielle.murray@bradford.gov.uk

MNHES Team Visual 2324

We work closely with schools to ensure children continue and keep up to datewith their education. Schools can refer to our service using the following referral form:

MNHES Referral Form

Policies

Bradford MNHES & S19 Policy 23-24

Safeguarding Team

KS3/4 Team Leader/Interim Designated Safeguarding Lead Robert Holladay robert.holladay@bradford.gov.uk
Welfare Officer/Deputy Safeguarding Lead Waqass Khalid waqass.kahlid@bradford.gov.uk
Service Manager/Deputy Safeguarding Lead Hannah Whittaker hannah.whittaker@bradford.gov.uk
Business Support Manager/Deputy Safeguarding Lead Claire Wright claire.wright@bradford.gov.uk
mnhesoffice@bradford.gov.uk
Teacher in Charge/Deputy Safeguarding Lead Stephanie Cordingley stephanie.cordingley@bradford.gov.uk

Who to contact

Telephone
01274 582995 01274 582995
E-mail
mnhesoffice@bradford.gov.uk

Where to go

Address
21 Owlet Road
Shipley
West Yorkshire
Postcode

BD18 2LU

View BD18 2LU on a map

Related links

Links
SafeSpot - An app that promotes positive mental wellbeing in children and young adults
Culivating Mindfulness - Guided Audio Practices
Aye Mind - Equipping professionals to use digital tools to support children and young people's mental health & wellbeing
Bangor University - Mindfulness Audio Downloads
The Art Of Autisum - Understanding the spectrum - a comic strip explanation

Local Offer

SEN Provision Type
Targeted

Actions

Add to shortlist
Contact the Local Offer

Last Updated

Last updated:

Skip back to top of page