Local Offer Annual Report 2018/19 now published Read More

Local Area SEND Inspection in Bradford Read more

SEND Strategic Partnership Board Read More

How do I find my NHS number? Click Here

Education Health and Care Assessments and Plans (EHCP) Read More

Join the NEW LO E-newsletter Click Here

Other SEND Consultations, reviews, feedback and responses

Bradford Transforming Care Partnership Review 2018

Please click here to read the review. 

Draft SEND Strategy for CYP

Consultation on our draft strategy for children and young people with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND)

Bradford district consulted on its strategy for how we support children and young people with special educational needs and disabilities this year.

The consultation ran from 4 September to 7 October 2018.

Our draft strategy, which is attached to this web page, sets out the vision and strategic priorities for the Bradford Local Area for the period 2018-2022.

The key partners who we are working with to develop, implement and review our strategy are:

  • Children and young people with SEND
  • Parents and carers of children and young people with SEND
  • Health commissioners and providers
  • Mainstream and specialist education settings
  • Voluntary and community sector organisations
  • Children’s Services and Adult Community Services - Bradford Council

The strategy’s vision sets out our ambition for the children and young people with SEND in Bradford and their families. The strategy outlines the principles, key priorities, approaches and key actions we will take to deliver our vision.

In particular, we would like your feedback on the following questions:

  1. Do you support our vision for children and young people with SEND ?
  2. Do you support the six principles we have developed?
  3. Do you support the seven key priorities identified in the draft strategy?
  4. We want to ensure that all children and young people with SEND receive the support they need and achieve appropriate outcomes regardless of their background. Are there any points you would raise in respect of gender, race, age or any other equality related issues that you feel the strategy should take account of?
  5. Are there any other comments you would like to make about the draft strategy?

We are committed to reviewing the strategy annually so we can continue to drive the improvements needed and to make the strategy a ‘live’ document that responds to the needs of children and their families.

The consultation has now ended and the final consulted strategy will be available soon.

SEND Strategy 2018-22 - Draft for consultation
SEND Strategy 2018-22 Summary version

Local Consultations Feedback

SNOOP Charity

Dear Carer,

Your help is needed for SNOOP :

Please find below a link to a short SNOOP survey about respite care for adults with learning disabilities.  We would very much appreciate your help in gathering as much information and insight into what a respite care service needs to provide, if you were to choose  it.

If you have already completed this survey thank you for your time, but if you haven’t please will you respond before Friday 20th July 2018 .

Thank you so much for your help

Please take survey here

Feedback from SEN Consultation Summer 2017

This data was collected after holding an Open Forum meeting when a council representative came along and gave a presentation about the proposed cuts. This was before the consultation was extended.

Click here to view survey

Parents Forum Bradford and Airedale Report 2017

Annual Report And Financial Statements for PFBA 2017

Click here to view Annual Report

Young People's Sexual and Reproductive Health Consultation 

Consultation on the views of 16 to 25 year olds about their behaviours and needs in relation to sexual and reproductive health

If you are 16 to 25 years old and live in Bradford, we would like to hear your views.

We want to know more about your knowledge, information and behaviours in relation to local services and sexual and reproductive health.

Please take a couple of minutes of your time to complete this survey here.

Local Area Special Educational Needs and Disabilities Consultations (SEND) 

The inspection of local areas’ effectiveness in identifying and meeting the needs of children and young people who have special educational needs and/or disabilities. Between 12 October 2015 and 4 January 2016, Ofsted and the Care Quality Commission (CQC) consulted formally on the proposals for inspecting how effectively local areas fulfil their responsibilities to children and young people who have special educational needs and/or disabilities. The inspections will be carried out jointly by the two inspectorates under section 20 of the Children Act 2004.

Bradford's Local Offer website, social media, Bradford schools online and the Bradford councils website welcomed and promoted the Local Area SEND consultations and how to complete the online consultation process and how to submit views.

Summary of Ofsted and CQC key findings to the four proposals:

The overall response was very positive and there was strong support for each of the four proposals. Respondents gave helpful and insightful comments and we were pleased to receive so many from children and young people. The responses are helping to inform our decisions about the inspection framework and how we will inspect local areas.

A full in detail summary report on the responses to the formal consultation has published by Ofsted and Care Quality Commissioner on the governments website click here to view.

Youth Voice feedback about Mental Health Services

Bradford Youth Service has gained feedback from young people called “Help today’s youth help tomorrows Bradford” about how youth today view the Mental Health Service in Bradford. Feedback and recommendations have been provided and shared with the appropriate services to review and develop services. See Mental Health Services feedback for full report within the resource file at the bottom of this page.

Youth Voice feedback about "What you should remember when designing services"

Thrive Bradford service consulted with young people in Bradford about what should be taken into consideration when commissioning, designing and developing new services for young people. Thrive Bradford in partnership with young people have produced a very valuable piece of work called “Helping young people to Thrive”- What you should remember when designing services. This document is used by Bradford Council Children’s Services commissioners and services across the district. To view the useful document see "What you should remember when designing services" in the resource file at the bottom of this page.

Children’s Commissioners visit Bradford’s Young People March 2016

The Children’s Commissioners visited Bradford’s Young People in March 2016 to gain feedback from Children and young people across the district. It was very helpful to visit you on 4 & 5 March 2016. We wanted to explore your experience of growing up in Bradford and hear your suggestions for improvements locally. The views and experiences of children and young people help us better understand and improve things in Bradford and across England. We would like to thank you for meeting with us. We have shared your thoughts and ideas with decision makers in Bradford, including Michael Jameson, Strategic Director of Children’s Services. They are looking at how they can use what you told us to make a difference where you live, learn and play. To view what young people feedback about “what was good” and “what you worried about or could be improved” see Children’s Commissioners visit Bradford’s Young People within the resource fill at the bottom of this page.

Associated Files

Public consultation Prevention & Early Help 2019

What are we consulting about?

Bradford Council wants your view on its proposed changes to where we deliver Prevention and Early Help services for babies, children, young people and families across the District. This includes from where we deliver the children’s centre core offer.

Prevention is about stopping problems happening. Early Help is about stopping problems that are happening from getting worse.

The proposal looks at which buildings are currently used to deliver these services, and how the Council could use these buildings more effectively in the future.

The proposals for the consultation were approved by the Council’s Executive at its meeting on 5 February.

This could allow for more money to be spent on staff to support families rather than on buildings.

The full Executive report has been published.

The consultation will run from 13 February and closes on 7 May 2019.

Why have we developed an estates strategy?

The estates strategy has been drawn up following the outcome of a public consultation carried out between November 2017 and February 2018 on the creation of a new 0-19 years Prevention and Early Help service.

The new service brings together a range of existing services to form a new set of preventative and early help arrangements for children, young people and families.

The new services are available through Family Hubs located in four areas of the district.

During the consultation many people asked that the Council review its use of buildings across the district. This would help show how we could use buildings as efficiently as possible so more funding could be available for front line services.

Why is consultation needed?

Statutory Guidance issued by the Department for Education places a duty on the Council to consult before:

1. Opening a new children’s centre

2. Making a significant change to the range and nature of services provided through a children’s centre and/or how they are delivered, including significant changes to services provided through linked sites

3. Closing a children’s centre; or reducing the services provided to such an extent that it no longer meets the statutory definition of a Sure Start children’s centre.

The Council needs to consult everyone who could be affected by the proposed changes. This includes local families, those who use children’s centres, children’s centres staff, any advisory board members and service providers. We particularly want disadvantaged families and minority groups participate in the consultation.

More information here

See File links below to view Leaflet and Event dates:

Prevention & Early Help Consultation Event 2019 
Prevention and Early consultation leaflet

Supporting Children & Young People Who Have SEND

Range Guidance Review
 
Why are we updating the Range Guidance?

  • Since the previous version of the Range Guidance was produced, there have been significant changes within both SEN and Education. The new Code of Practice for SEND, Fair Funding and Assessment without Levels have all led to the Range Guidance becoming outdated and misleading.
  • In addition, issues relating to school funding and pressure on the High Needs Block mean it is more important than ever that schools and LA have a shared view of their individual responsibilities.
  • The Revised Range Guidance attempts to address all of these issues and provide clear consistence advice. It is based on existing models of good practice eg the Wigan Inclusive Quality First Teaching Audit and existing Bradford tools such as the SEN Progress Grids and SEN Support Grid.

Introducing the Revised Range Guidance
 
The Guidance has three parts:
 
Bradford Special Educational Needs Descriptors
 
•This document describes the complexity of the young person’s need where Range 1 is the lowest level of need and Range 5 the most complex. This is established using the Bradford SEN Progress Grids, alongside the SEND Descriptors and other assessment tools. 
 
Bradford SEND Graduated Approach Summary

  • Graduated Approach: ie the type and magnitude of intervention that should be put in place for the young person, in accordance with their identified SEN Range and  based on the SEND Interventions Grid.
  • SEN Support Offer: this clarifies where the support should take place and the source of funding for this.
  • Evidence: This indicates the documentation that schools should be able to provide to evidence their judgement regarding Range / Graduated approach.

Bradford SEND Graduated Approach Detailed
 
This document gives a more in depth view based in the key areas of need identified in the Code of Practice (2014), including:

  • Graduated Approach: ie the type and magnitude of intervention that should be put in place for the young person, in accordance with their identified SEN Range and  based on the SEND Interventions Grid.
  • Examples of Strategies and Resources: these are taken from the Bradford Quality First Teaching and SEND Provision spread sheet and serve as examples. The full spread sheet can be found here:
  • SEN Support Offer: this clarifies where the support should take place and the source of funding for this.

 Revised Range Guidance Early Years / 16 - 25
 
EY and 16 - 25 versions are currently under construction and will be added as soon as they are available.
 
Revised Range Guidance Roll Out
 
We aim to trial this Range Guidance between January and March 2019 and implement a revised version from April 2019. 
 
Please take time to look through the Revised Range Guidance and use it to explore and shape your provision within school

Revised Range Guidance (Draft)
Bradford's Revised Range Model Excel Spreadsheet
Revised Range Guidance Feedback

 
Complete the Revised Range Guidance Feedback sheet and return to : RangeGuidanceReview@bradford.gov.uk

The DfE replies: Accountability in SEND

(Published on the Special Needs Jungle website in three parts, February 2018)

Last year, the Department for Education offered to answer SNJ readers' questions about SEND. It's not the first time they've done this, you can see the previous session in 2016 here. Once again, you sent your questions in, we grouped them into themes and put them forward and waited. And now, dear reader, the answers are here. Before we start, I'd like to send Patrick, who was in charge of answering your questions but fell ill, our very best wishes for a full recovery; I'm sure you will do the same.  This meant an unavoidable delay, but other DfE SEND team members picked up the burning torch and thanks to Laura, Chris and colleagues for this.

Now, of course, it's a given that the answers will not completely satisfy you. Only a properly-functioning SEND system will do that. But with that acknowledged, I for one, appreciate the fact that the DfE has been open enough to do this in the first place and that we have had very good access in general. So, we start off with the first of three posts on the themes of support, EHCPs and accountability. Today, we're bringing you the 'support' section. Remember, this information is direct from the government so you can pass it on to schools, LAs, GPs, NHS providers and anyone else who you think needs this information.

Please click here to see the Special Needs Jungle DFE Response February 2018 attachment

Transport Consultation

Bradford Council is consulting on how clear and user friendly its proposed Post 16 Transport Policy Statement for 2018/2019 is.

Bradford Council is currently consulting on its proposed Post 16 Transport Policy Statement for 2018/2019 with young people aged 16 to 18 and their parents/carers and learners aged 19 to 24 with learning difficulties and/or disabilities and their parents/carers.

We are keen to receive feedback about how clear and user friendly the Policy Statement is from parents, young people and other users. Only feedback on the clarity of the Policy Statement will be considered at this stage.

The consultation ends on Wednesday 23 May 2018.

Click here to find out more about the consultation.

Please see the below links/attachments:

Contact us

Bradford Local Offer Logo

The Bradford SEND Local Offer is a free and impartial service provided by Bradford Council. The information contained within the website is available for the purposes of identifying services and provision that are available to children and young people with special educational needs and/or disabilities. This information does not represent a recommendation or an endorsement of a Service or Provider and neither does the Bradford Council or its partners make any representations or warranties as to the accuracy of the information.

Anyone seeking to use or access a service or provision is responsible for undertaking their own checks to determine the suitability and fitness for purpose of that service and provision. Some providers will be registered and inspected by external agencies, such as Ofsted or the Care Quality Commission. Anyone working with children and young people will be required to have appropriate Disclosure and Barring Service Check (the replacement for the Criminal Record Check), safeguarding policies and insurance in place, which they should make available to you on request.